Illumination

Once I built a ball of light,
In the land of always night
Proud of my own creation I
Hung it outside
Where it shone,
Brighter than the brightest light
Passers-by, they looked in awe,
Not believing what they saw
Envious were they,
And so at the end of the day,
Stones struck my creation;
I could only watch in silence,
For I didn’t believe in violence
The darkness returned
But a shooting star in the sky,
Shed some light as it flew by
And in that brief light I saw,
The ground crack open like a jaw
And all my neighbours, blind in the dark,
Stumbled and fell,
Cursing the light as they nursed their wounds

Leave a Reply

