Smoke

I saw smoke rising to the sky
I looked for fire, but all I found was a lie
I felt the heat touch my skin
In spite of this, I felt cold within
So I asked a passerby
To shed some light upon this lie
He was baffled, as was I
Why the smoke would not die?
So gathered there, a crowd not so vast
Wondering how the smoke could last
They discussed and then they argued,
With what strange spell was the smoke imbued?
It was not the smoke but the lie,
Said a man with one eye
So they dug the ground,
They dug it deep
At long last the truth was revealed
In a silver box it lay sealed
Fading away, the smoke left a trace
I had liar written on my face

Leave a Reply

